top of page

Myths and Rumors of the Wedding Planner

I thought of many ideas for my next blog. But I realized that maybe I could shed some light and dispel a number of common myths and rumors associated with the wedding planner.

Before I became a wedding planer. I had believed quite a few misconceptions about a wedding planner myself. And honestly, I cringe thinking about it... Instead of taking time to do research, I had thought that I knew everything. (Kind of like most kids fresh out of high school) As time passed, and I discovered my calling. I knew better. But not a lot. Once I received proper training and certification, my views became much more broad. And I continue to take classes and refresher courses to be able to learn more and better serve my clients.

#1 Money

Let's start with the biggest myth and rumor of all! Money!

Money ties in to a huge amount of rumors and myths that it even caused my misconception at a younger age. Here are a few myths

-Wedding Planners only care about being paid

-Planners take "kick backs" from referred vendors

-Planners are expensive

-They only work with large budgets

This arrow here is to point out that these thoughts are the exact same ideas I originally had about wedding planners. I could have never been so wrong.

Let's start with the first one: Wedding planners only care about being paid.

I do not think this is much of a myth. More like a misconception... You see, yes we like to be paid. Because for many, that is our livelihood. Our bill money. What puts food on our tables and clothes on our back.

The misconception is stating that we couldn't care less about our clients. As long as we get paid we will do a sub par job.

I believe I can speak for almost every wedding and event planner that this is entirely not true. Why would we go into a profession that we spend countless hours to make happen, only to do a half butt job because we are more concerned about getting paid? I wouldn't want that myself. It will in the end just ruin my business. Word gets out and eventually no one would hire me. How I view it, is by stepping in my clients shoes. If this was my wedding, why would I allow it to happen in 'such and such' a manner?

While yes, I respectively wish to be paid for my services rendered. (Don't we all) My clients happiness and vision will always come first.

Let's move on to the next myth: Planners take "kick backs" from referred vendors

If I ever do such a thing. I give you lovely readers permission to smack me really hard. Not only is this unethical, it's considered to be very bad business practices and almost taboo in a way.

If a planner willingly does "kickbacks" or "referrals" with their clients and vendors. Your better off taking your business elsewhere. Kick backs, or referrals, are basically when a venue and planner receive a monetary income for referring the other business. It's basically stating that they prefer money over the best interest of your client.

To me. That's a big no no. I know that almost every planner condones such and act. However some still do. The best way to know when interviewing potential planners, vendors, and venues is to simply ask. They legally cannot lie and it gives you a better perception as to who you are working with on a professional level. And if you still think that your getting the best from this particular business. You can still use them. Because it's about your special day, and what the best choice would be for you.

Number 3! Planners are expensive. No, not really. You see, most planners offer a number of packages, services and information. That is to keep it cheaper and much easier for you as a client to know what your getting and working with. The minimum amount of hours spent of planning a full scale wedding is an average of 200-250. Planners would base their pricing on a set number of hours they would work for you and give you a package deal if they are doing a full service planning. While they can also have an hourly rate instead should they simply be providing consultation to help you hash out the details and get some ideas and leads. Or there can just be a set price if they are merely helping coordinating your wedding and reception that day. While more sought after wedding planners cost a bit more than lesser established, most planners will strive for what's best for you and your budget. For example; myself. I am very big on helping couples in almost any reasonable budget range. I also offer free consultations as a specialty of my own to offer the area I serve. I know what it's like to be on a budget and I want to give everyone that chance to have a special day. So while no, we aren't expensive. We are hardworking!

And the final money myth! They only work with large budgets!

As stated earlier, I personally work with any reasonable budget. And that's the same for almost every planner I've met, worked with, and known. It's the reason we offer packages and a variety of services. To make it easier for our clients.

#2 Time and D.I.Y.

A few easy but helpful myths to debunk revolve around D.I.Y. and time. Many couples opt for a D.I.Y. wedding. Which I love to see especially for the creative. However, it's not all that glam and glitz as many would think. Here are few examples.

-I can save money by doing it myself

-With Pinterest and other creative sites, I can easily get ideas to do all myself

-I can find vendors myself, why hire someone to do it for me?

-I have friends and family helping, why would I bother hiring a planner?

Now to explain this, yes. You can definitely plan your own wedding. And DIY is awesome. However for the average wedding couple, time is not always on their side. As said earlier, planning a wedding takes a minimum of 200-250 hours. And DIY definitely would add to that immensely. A wedding planner can help take out the juggling of planning and DIY'ing to alleviate the stress. Because of this, you can focus on your creative energy and time while the planner does all the research and calls for vendors, and and venues. You just need to give the okay.

Adding to this, while yes you can find vendors on your own. A wedding planner has the contacts and relationships to know what works best for you and your wedding. Making it easier and giving more peace of mind for you.

Similar situation with the help of friends and family. While they are a wonderful help, there is no guarantee they are available to help. Also, are they willing to miss a few vital events such as the toasts? Or cake cutting? Or Possibly during the "I Do's" to make sure the reception is to be set up properly? That's why a wedding planner is there. They have no emotional attachment and have the experience and professionalism to make your day run smoothly and so everyone is able to enjoy themselves without any worries.

#3 In House Coordinators and Spotlight Hogging

The third and final section is one of the easiest myths/rumors to debunk.

- My venue/church has it's own onsite coordinator, why would I need to hire a planner?

- If I hire a planner, they will make it all about them

These myths are very easy to debunk. But also extremely easy to think. To start, while yes, many venue's and Church's offer and on site coordinator. There are only for that location. And do not do anymore than that.. Compared to a wedding planner, the on site coordinator merely directs the event. They do not help or have the knowledge of your wedding except for the basic details. And there is also no guarantee that specific coordinator will be available or still employed at the time being. In comparison, a wedding planner gets to know you personally and your specific needs and wants. And is with you every step of the way.

In continuing with the second statement. No. A wedding planner will NEVER make them wedding about them. The reason this is our profession is because we do not have an emotional attachment. Which will help us keep ourselves in a professional manner and do our job properly. We have placed ourselves in this job to help you. It's something that comes naturally and what we want to do and share with our community.

Ending Thoughts

I hope this blog has helped create some answers for many who were unsure. And to also help you feel compelled and not to be nervous about asking questions for clarity for a potential wedding planner.

As a wedding planner, our job is to ensure that every client receives the best and every need is met with the utmost perfection. We offer our services because it is something we are good at and want to share with the world. I'm excited to be able to help and will be happy to answer any more questions as well!

bottom of page